Home > Write Away > An Exercise in Fruitility?

An Exercise in Fruitility?

I have always wanted to write a book. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to write one. And, for the last 10 years or so, I’ve had one pinging around my head. Most of the characters are fleshed out. I’ve even nailed down the opening line.

The problem lies in the fact that I am somewhat undisciplined. I have lots of grand ideas that, for one reason or another, never come to fruition. Laziness. Boredom. Overtasked. Forgetfulness. These are just some of the excuses or reasons for me not putting pen to paper or pixels to monitor.

Recently I ran across a few Tweeps out on Twitter who write fiction. For those not in the know: Twitter is a site of, basically, status updates, called tweets. Tweets are limited to 140 characters. And people use Twitter for all sorts of reasons. Thought collection. Status Updates. Social interaction. News Updates. And many other reasons.

I stumbled across Very Short Story. It got me thinking. A sort of thought experiment. What if I were to write my book in tweets. Then, as story pieces and ideas form, I can just text a tweet to Twitter and the story moves forward. At the end of the week, I can make a digest of these tweets and roll them up into a weekly blog post.

Again, at this point, it’s a thought experiment. I’d need to sit down and map it out as to how I’d like to do this, if it’s really feasible. Is it worth it? Will it be Fruitful or Futile? Fruitile?

Categories: Write Away Tags:
  1. April 6, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Write a book!A lady I work with has written a couple books – she's a preacher's wife…and has written I think 2 books. They're small…paperback…nothing too fancy….but she's so proud.A book in tweets….should be interesting. That's how that kid who does "shitmydadsays" on twitter got started – tweets…now he's got a book out…and I heard a movie; that could happen to you!

  2. June 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Hey Scott,
    I say go…for…it!!! Just do it!!!
    Reading through your post, I began to chuckle to myself thinking “If only someone from 100 years ago could read this!!!” Shoot, even 20 years ago!! What would they think, LOL!!! It would be like a foreign language to them!!! Tweets, twitter, blog post… Too funny. I just had to share :))
    But seriously, WRITE THE BOOK!! I hate hearing people say if only I did this or that!! I say DO IT!! What do you have to lose?? Absolutely nothing!!
    Good Luck!!!
    Michella

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

